Raj Kumar Sharma, Virat Kohli’s childhood cricket mentor, appointed Delhi coach – cricket

The Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) on Sunday named Raj Kumar Sharma, Virat Kohli’s childhood coach, as the head coach of the Delhi state senior team for the upcoming 2020-21 season, starting with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20.

Sharma is a former top notch player and is supported by Gursharan Singh who played a Test against New Zealand in 1990 and an ODI for India. Singh has served on various government teams over the past decade.

Sharma, a 2016 Dronacharya laureate, was also Delhi’s bowling coach last season. He has also coached the Malta national team and was previously the head of the Delhi U-23 national team.

Along with them, Ashu Dani was appointed chairman of the selection committee, while Mohan Chaturvedi and Chetnya Nanda are the other members.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship knockout games will take place in the renovated Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad from January 20 to 31.

The teams were divided into six groups – five elite groups and one plate group, with Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Indore, Chennai and Vadodara being the venues for the league games.

“The BCCI will start the 2020-21 national season with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament starting January 10, 2021,” said Jay Shah, BCCI secretary, in a letter.

“Teams must assemble in their respective host cities on or before January 2, 2021, and must undergo COVID-19 testing and quarantine as required by state regulators,” Shah said.

Chennai will host the Games of the Plate Group, which consists of eight teams, while the other 30 teams have been split into five elite groups, with each group having six teams.

The knockout games are scheduled to begin on January 26th. The quarter-finals will be played on January 26th and 27th, while the two semi-finals will be played in Ahmedabad on January 29th and the final on January 31st.

Players will have to undergo three COVID-19 tests on January 2nd, 4th and 6th, the results of which will be announced the next day.

Before the knockout games, players will undergo two COVID-19 tests, one on January 20th and one on January 22nd.

Karnataka, the defending champions, has been inducted into Elite Group A and will play their games in Bengaluru.

Delhi and domestic giants Mumbai have been inducted into Elite Group E and will play their games in Mumbai, while Bengal has been inducted into Elite Group B and will play their games in Calcutta.

This is the first tournament of the 2020-21 season that has been delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.