indian Domestic cricket season to begin with Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on January 10

India’s 2020-21 domestic season will begin from January 10 with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy tournament. The Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played from 10 to 31 January. But the country’s prestigious Ranji Trophy competition seems to be hanging in the balance this season. Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has given this information in an email sent to all the state units on Sunday. This decision has been taken on the basis of advice from all the state associations in which they were asked which tournament they would like to play more in the Corona affected domestic season.

All-rounder Irfan Pathan’s feat, achieved special in T20 cricket

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy got the highest priority while Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy were second preference with equal priority. Jai Shah said in the email that the teams would have to gather in their respective bio bubble in the country by January 2. The teams and bio bubble information will be revealed to the teams soon. The BCCI wants to create six bio bubbles for the domestic season. Bengal and Karnataka have offered to host.

Brad Hogg took aim at India’s top order, Wasim Jaffer enjoyed

The venue for the tournament has not been decided yet and details related to Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be decided soon according to Shah’s email. The BCCI will also consult members on how to conduct other tournaments. There is no mention of Ranji Trophy in BCCI’s email but Shah said that a decision will be taken in this context after the group stage of Mushtaq Ali tournament. However the state associations say that it will be quite difficult to organize Ranji Trophy this season. Meanwhile, the last date for the inter-state transfer of cricketers for the season has been extended to 20 December.