India Tour of Australia 2020-21


The fast bowler was injured on the third day in Adelaide

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami was banned from the rest of the India tour through Australia. Shami is believed to have suffered a fracture in his right forearm that was revealed after it was scanned immediately after the Adelaide test ended. The news will come as a heavy blow to India, which lost that test within three days of being challenged for its lowest test total ever.

The BCCI has yet to make an announcement about the development. As for Shami’s replacement, the team management must choose one from the trio of players: Kartik Tyagi, T Natarajan and Shardul Thakur. By the way, none of these three fast men were part of the original test team. Both Natarajan and Thakur stayed behind after the white ball leg of the Australia tour to join Tyagi as the Net Bowler.

Fighting in 11th place, Shami sustained the injury while struggling awkwardly on a short delivery from Pat Cummins on Saturday. After Shami was taped on his right forearm, he decided to continue, but then signaled that he could not continue and went back to the changing room. He did not return to the bowl in the fourth inning either.

At the post-game presentation, India’s captain Virat Kohli said Shami was “in pain” and couldn’t even raise his bowling hand. Shami’s absence means the Indian fast-paced bowling attack is left only by Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj. Both Saini and Siraj are not occupied in test cricket.

In addition to Shami’s absence, India will be without Kohli, who will miss the rest of the series when he returns home on paternity leave.