BCCI deletes IPL for 10 teams From 2022, cricket will support inclusion in the Olympic Games

BCCI deletes IPL for 10 teams From 2022, Crickets will support inclusion in the Olympic Games

The IPL will have 10 teams from the 2022 season.© Instagram

Starting with the 2022 edition, two new teams will be added to the Indian Premier League (IPL), making it a league of 10 teams. The governing body of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) ratified the joining of the two new teams during its annual general meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday. Currently, the IPL is an eight-team affair. In another important development, the BCCI also supported the offer of the International Cricket Council to include cricket in the 2028 Olympic Games in Los Angeles.


The ICC wants to include the T20 format in the 2028 Olympic Games.

The BCCI secretary and treasurer will also speak to the government about tax exemption to host the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021 and the 50-Over World Cup in 2023.

The BCCI also plans to kick off the national season with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship in January after a delay of several months.

The Indian Cricket Board also announced the appointment of General Manager KVP Rao at its general meeting.

The BCCI currently appoints three selectors for the national team. Former Indian Pacer Ajit Agarkar is one of the candidates.

This year, the IPL was postponed from March to October due to the coronavirus pandemic. The tournament was held in the United Arab Emirates due to the high number of cases in India.


The Mumbai Indians won their record-breaking fifth IPL trophy after beating Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai.

With inputs from PTI

Topics mentioned in this article